America: Now and Here Debuts in Kansas City at First Friday

by Eric Melin on May 4, 2011

This Friday, Kansas City makes history.

America: Now and Here is a multimillion-dollar national traveling art project led by New York artist Eric Fischl and its launching in Kansas City’s Crossroads Arts District this Friday before continuing across the country.

The mission of America: Now and Here is to open up a dialogue about America through the arts. Works by national painters, playwrights, poets, composers and musicians will mix with local artists for the next three weeks in Kansas City and surrounding areas.

And…it’s free. Check out the full calendar of KC events. This awesome video explains the significance of ANHKC to the KC landscape pretty well:

According to the KC Star: The visual-arts exhibit features 106 works by 26 Kansas City artists and 52 national artists, but the total number of artists involved in the project, which includes poetry, plays, music and film, is much greater than that.

As if that weren’t cool enough? Friday night directly following the opening of all galleries is a performance by renowned musical artist DJ Spooky at 7pm.

Countless numbers of KC companies are volunteering on the project and Spiral16 has donated our web monitoring platform to help ANHKC measure the digital footprint of the project. Feel free to spread the word about America: Now and Here on Twitter using the #anhkc hashtag.

Here’s the quick and dirty:

Launch at First Friday May 6
Leedy-Volkous Art Center
2012 Baltimore Ave, KCMO
Crossroads Arts District

DJ Spooky performance May 6
Leedy-Volkous Art Center
2012 Baltimore Ave, KCMO
Crossroads Arts District
7pm – 9pm

Project continues May 6 – 28
11am – 7pm
Wednesday – Sunday

Keep updated here:

Full calendar of KC events

America: Now and Here KC on Twitter

Local Event Blog:

America: Now and Here on Facebook

America: Now and Here on YouTube

America: Now and Here National on Twitter

National Project Homepage:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: